Sunday, February 26, 2017

a4a ACTNOW for Feb 27

ACTNOW! 
a4a local action THIS MORNING
                            
From the a4a Education Action Group:
There is pending federal and state legislation that will diminish public education at all levels
****ACTNOW****
1.  AZ HB 2394 will continue to expand the number of students who are eligible for Student Empowerment Scholarships in Arizona. Originally set up for disabled children this new version will allow parents to take tax money through vouchers that would go to public schools and put that money toward private school tuition. The common terminology for both of these bills is “School Choice”. The actual result is privatization of public education.
This State legislation is being heard by the AZ Legislative Education Committee at 2:00 pm on Monday, February 27. Contact these members by phone or fax starting at 9:00 am on Monday until 1:59 pm.  Oppose HB 2394.  Call these committee members NOW.
State Rep. Paul Boyer (LD-20)(R) - pboyer@azleg.gov - (602) 926-4173
State Rep. Douglas Coleman (LD-16)(R) - 
dcoleman@azleg.gov - (602) 926-3160
State Rep. Lela Alston (LD-24)(D) - 
lalston@azleg.gov - (602) 926-5829
State Rep. Reginald  Bolding (LD-27)(D) -  
rbolding@azleg.gov - (602) 926-3132
State Rep. Macario  Saldate (LD-3)(D) - 
msaldate@azleg.gov - (602) 926- 4171
State Rep. Russell Bowers (LD-25)(R) - 
rbowers@azleg.gov - (602) 926-3128
State Rep. Jill Norgaard (LD-18)(R) - 
jnorgaard@azleg.gov - (602) 926-3140
State Rep. Don Shooter (LD-13)(R) - 
dshooter@azleg.gov - (602) 926-4838
State Rep. David Stringer (LD-1)(R) - 
dstringer@azleg.gov - (602) 926-4838
State Rep. Michelle Udall (LD-25)(R) - 
mudall@azleg.gov - (602) 926-4856
State Rep. Becky Nutt (LD-14)(R) - bnutt@azleg.gov - (602) 926-4852

2.  HR 610, co-signed by AZ Congressman Franks, calls for distributing Federal funds by voucher, for elementary and secondary education to parents who choose to enroll their children in a private, religious or home school. The bill also repeals certain nutritional standards that currently require fruits, vegetables, whole grains and low-fat milk in school meals.  Contact Congresswoman McSally (or your state’s Congressman) to oppose.
Martha McSally contacts:  Tucson office  520-881-3588;      DC office  202-225-2542

****ACTNOW****
An “Attack on Free Speech and Assembly”
This one is personal!
SB 1142: This bill makes participating in, or helping organize a protest that turns into a riot, an offense that could lead to criminal racketeering charges, including significant jail time and seizure of assets.  An overt act isn’t needed to prove a conspiracy to riot.  If a rally results in a “riot” (including disturbing the peace or destruction of property) the planners can be charged.  Those who plan, sponsor or participate in a rally could be charged as if they were part of organized crime!
The Speaker of the House could kill the bill simply by not assigning it to a committee. Contact the Speaker of the AZ House, J. D. Mesnard and urge him NOT to assign SB1142 to a committee.  THIS WOULD KILL THE BILL.

jmesnard@azleg.gov or 602-926 4481 or Speaker of the House 1700 W. Washington St., Phoenix, AZ 85007 (Room 223)